“Download a Female Friday”

After his girlfriend, Lindsay Ell, had her acoustic performance on a radio station cancelled because of her personal life, Bobby Bones designated today (June 23, 2017) as “National Download a Female Friday”.

Bobby is encouraging everyone to purchase a female artist record (new or old) today in support of female musicians.

I often listen to The Bobby Bones Show in the morning on the way to work, and when I heard the story of how Lindsay was treated simply because she is dating Bobby, I was appalled. First of all, I have never met Bobby. But from listening to his show, I think he is a genuinely good person and would be easy to get along with. So why would his relationship with Lindsay be viewed negatively. Second, for a radio station to cancel someone’s performance because of their personal life doesn’t seem very professional in my opinion. Unless that station is a talk show about individual’s personal lives, then it shouldn’t matter. Lindsay was scheduled to perform on radio, her performance for the radio station and her personal life are, for all intents and purposes, unrelated. Her performance being cancelled for anything that doesn’t affect her ability to perform or the radio station’s ability to allow her to perform, is unfair.

I cannot think of an example where this sort of thing has happened to a male celebrity before, but I am sure that Lindsay isn’t the first female victim, or will be the last. That’s why I am more than happy to participate in “National Download a Female Friday”.

512qtqTH9XL._SS500

To show my support, I decided to purchase Lindsay Ell’s album “Worth the Wait”. Released on March 24, 2017, this album is made up of 6 songs, which in my opinion, are all excellent. At this time, this album only has 12 reviews on amazon.com, but every single one of them is 5-stars and raves about how awesome and incredible an artist she is. To my knowledge, I’ve never listened to her before today. But after listening to this one, I will be sure to listen to her others.

51jAAPQZBUL._SS500

Another album I purchased today to support female artists is, Kelsea Ballerini’s album “The First Time”. This album is a little older than Lindsay’s, having been released May 19, 2015. Kelsea’s first album has a total of 12 songs, all of which I enjoyed, some more than others, but there were not any that I did not like. As of right now, the album has 151 reviews on amazon.com, averaging a rating of about 4.5 stars. I’ve heard a few songs by Kelsea on the radio before today that I liked, and this album had enough of those songs that I felt comfortable purchasing the whole album. This turned out to be a great decision, and I will also be looking for new music from her as well.

51XXraNw2pL._SS500

One album by a female artist that I would also recommend is “Hero” by Maren Morris. It’s made up of 11 songs, was released on June 3, 2016, and currently has an average rating from 276 reviews of about 4.5 stars on amazon.com. This is an excellent album full of catchy tunes. And the only reason I did not purchase it today is that I already have it. But I enjoy her music and, more specifically this album, so much that I will most likely purchase the vinyl to add to my collection.

I hope that many others take part in “National Download a Female Friday” and continue to support female artists after today as well. Hopefully, what happened to Lindsay doesn’t discourage her or other female artists, and one day things like that won’t happen anymore.

 

Links:

“National Download a Female Friday”

Worth the Wait – Lindsay Ell

The First Time – Kelsea Ballerini

Hero – Maren Morris

Leave a Reply

